Happy Blog-iversary!

Gooey Pumpkin Skillet Cake

Gooey Pumpkin Skillet Cake

It’s hard to believe that one year ago, I was creating my first blog post. So much has happened since then…Finishing my first job, applying to grad school, moving to Chicago, going to Israel- really, 2012 was a year full of change, challenges, and opportunity.

I’m happy my blog-iversary coincides with the New Year, because it gives me a chance to reflect, and make plans for the year to come. Of course, I want to discover new recipes, restaurants and bakeries.  But I also hope this year brings me more opportunities to travel, meet new people, and experience different cultures. I realized that I’m truly happy when I’m trying new things and visiting new places, so hopefully this year will give me the opportunity to see more of the world.

In the meantime, to celebrate my blog-iversay I decided to try a recipe that I’ve had on hold for a year. One of the first dessert recipes I ever found online was “One-Skillet Gooey Pumpkin Cookie Cake,” and it has been on my bookmark list ever since. At the time, I didn’t own a skillet and didn’t want to spring for one quite yet.

DSCN1995

This year, I made sure to buy a skillet before I moved to Chicago…maybe largely because I had been dying to make this cake. I knew the combination of gooey, buttery batter, pumpkin and cinnamon would be delicious, and I was not proven wrong.

The cake is easy to make, filled with cinnamon-brown sugar swirl, and will make your apartment/home smell like pumpkin scented candles. And the best part is, unlike the candle (which is sort of a tease), you’ll have a delicious dessert after 15-25 minutes.

Slice of Pumpkin Skillet Cake

Slice of Pumpkin Skillet Cake

Note: This cake is best enjoyed straight out of the skillet with a scoop of ice cream on top.

Gooey Pumpkin Skillet Cake (slightly adapted from Willow Bird Baking)

Ingredients:
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 cup pureed pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon allspice
a few dollops of dulce de leche

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a 10- or 12-inch cast iron skillet over medium heat, melt the butter. Stir in the vegetable oil, sugars, and vanilla and remove from heat. Let this mixture cool until the pan is no longer hot (about 5 minutes) so you won’t scramble your eggs.

Add both eggs to the butter mixture, whisking them well to combine. Whisk in the pumpkin. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, allspice. Mix into the skillet.

Stir in the streusel (click for link to recipe). Place dollops of dulce de leche around the surface of the batter. Bake your skillet cookie for 15-25* minutes, or until the edges are getting golden and the center is still soft (a toothpick inserted into the center should come out with some moist crumbs, but no liquid batter). Eat immediately while still warm.

*Depending on your skillet, this cooking time can really vary. I’d start checking at 15 minutes and then check every couple of minutes after that with toothpicks. Make sure to look for moist crumbs, not a clean toothpick.

About Emily Wasserman

Bonjour! My name is Emily and I'm a writer based in St. Louis. I'm also a home baker with a small business, Amélie Bakery. I'm a self-proclaimed Francophile and love French pastries and baking.
This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Blog-iversary!

  1. Claire-Marie says:

    Happy blog-iversary!!! One year already that I’m pleased to read your posts !
    I’m so impatient to read more of them!
    By the way happy new year too !
    Your friend, Claire-Marie

  2. emseats88 says:

    Thanks, Claire-Marie! Happy New Year to you, too! I’m so glad you read my blog:) I hope you’re doing well and I’ll email you soon.

Leave a comment